Herbert Hovenkamp

Herbert Hovenkamp is James G. Dinan University Professor at the University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School and the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. Prior to that, he held the Ben and Dorothy Willie Chair at the University of Iowa College of Law.

Before coming to Iowa, he was professor of law at the University of California’s Hastings College of the Law, and prior to that was instructor in the Department of History and American Civilization at the University of Texas. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and in 2008 won the U.S. Justice Department’s John Sherman Award for his lifetime contributions to antitrust law.

Hovenkamp graduated from Calvin College in 1969. He then did graduate study at the University of Texas at Austin, receiving an M.A. in American literature in 1971 and a Ph.D. in American civilization in 1976. He also attended the University of Texas School of Law, receiving a Juris Doctor degree in 1978.