06 March | 6 AM

Interdisciplinary Approaches to Growth and Innovation

Virtual Event
TOPIC:

On March 6, 2021 ICLE and the Oxford Union will welcome a distinguished group of scholars to discuss what economists have to learn from the study of science, business and demography, to better understand competition, trade, growth and the long-term development of our economy.

Schedule

11:30 AM – 12:00 PM (GMT) / 6:30 AM – 7 AM (ET)

Charles Goodhart & Manoj Pradhan: Demography and economic growth

Charles Goodhart, of Goodhart’s Law fame, and Manoj Pradhan discuss the relationship between demographics and growth, and argue that an aging global population could mean higher inflation and interest rates sooner than many imagine.

Register in advance for this webinar here.

 

2:00 PM – 2:30 PM (GMT) / 9:00 AM – 9:30 AM (ET)

Catherine Tucker: Privacy and innovation — is there a trade-off?

MIT’s Catherine Tucker discusses the costs and benefits of privacy regulation with ICLE’s Sam Bowman, and considers whether we face a trade-off between privacy and innovation online and in the fight against Covid.

Register in advance for this webinar here.

 

4:40 PM – 5:40 PM (GMT) / 11:40 AM – 12:40 PM (ET)

Don Rosenberg: Don Rosenberg in conversation with Geoffrey Manne

Qualcomm’s General Counsel Don Rosenberg, formerly of Apple and IBM, discusses the political and economic challenges facing a global tech company in 2021, dealing with China while working in one of the most strategically vital industries in the world.

Register in advance for this webinar here.

 

6:40 PM – 7:20 PM (GMT) / 1:40 PM – 2:20 PM (ET)

David Teece: Dynamic capabilities: businesses in an uncertain world

David Teece explains the dynamic capabilities framework, a way of understanding business strategy and behavior in an uncertain world.

Register in advance for this webinar here.

 

8:20 PM – 9:20 PM (GMT) / 3:20 PM – 4:20 PM (ET)

Vernon Smith and Shruti Rajagopalan: What we still have to learn from Adam Smith

Nobel Prize laureate economist Vernon Smith discusses the enduring insights of Adam Smith with the Mercatus Center’s Shruti Rajagopalan.

Register in advance for this webinar here.

 

10:20 PM – 11:20 PM (GMT) / 5:20 PM – 6:20 PM (ET)

Robert Atkinson, Samantha Hoffman, Jennifer Huddleston: American and Chinese approaches to tech policy in the 2020s

Our panel, including the Information Technology and Innovation Foundation’s President Robert Atkinson, the Australian Strategic Policy Institute’s Samantha Hoffman, and the American Action Forum’s Jennifer Huddleston, discusses the role of tech policy in the U.S. and China in the geopolitics of the 2020s.

Register in advance for this webinar here.

Add event to

 

Virtual event co-hosted by

ICLE and the Oxford Union