Patrick J. Leahy

The Hon. Patrick J. Leahy is the President’s Distinguished Fellow at the University of Vermont and represented Vermont in the U.S. Senate from 1975 to 2023. He chaired the Senate Judiciary Committee in the 107th Congress and then again from the 110th Congress through the 113th Congress.

He also served as chair of the Senate Agriculture Committee from the 100th Congress through the 103rd Congress, and the Senate Appropriations Committee in the 117th Congress. He was Senate president pro tempore from 2012 to 2015 and again from 2021 to 2023. Before his election to the Senate, he was state’s attorney of Chittenden County, Vermont from 1966 to 1975.

He received his bachelor’s Saint Michael’s College and his JD from Georgetown University.