International Center for Law and Economics rss feed

Geoffrey A. Manne, Executive Director ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it )

Geoffrey A. Manne is the founder and Executive Director of the International Center for Law and Economics (ICLE), based in Portland, Oregon. He is also a Senior Fellow at TechFreedom. Prior to founding ICLE, Professor Manne was a law professor at Lewis & Clark Law School, specializing in antitrust law and economics, intellectual property law, corporate governance, and international economic regulation, all topics on which he has written. From 2006-2009, he took a leave from teaching to direct Microsoft’s legal and economics academic outreach program. His publications have appeared in journals including the Journal of Competition Law and Economics, the Harvard Journal of Law and Public Policy, the Wisconsin Law Review, the Alabama Law Review, and the Arizona Law Review. He is a noted antitrust, telecommunications and technology policy expert (described by the “dean of American Antitrust Law,” Herbert Hovenkamp, as a “top scholar of competition policy and intellectual property”). He is an expert in the economic analysis of law, drawing on degrees from the University of Chicago as well as work for Judge Richard Posner, private practice, and brief service at the FTC. Professor Manne has practiced antitrust law at Latham & Watkins, has served as a Bigelow Fellow at the University of Chicago Law School and an Olin Fellow at the University of Virginia School of Law, and clerked for Judge Morris S. Arnold on the 8th Circuit Court of Appeals. Professor Manne is a co-founder of the Microsoft / George Mason Annual Conference on the Law and Economics of Innovation (with Joshua Wright) and, also with Joshua Wright, is the editor of a volume from Cambridge University Press entitled Competition Policy and Intellectual Property Law Under Uncertainty: Regulating Innovation.  He blogs at Truth on the Market (of which he is also the co-founder) and tweets at @LawEconCenter and @GeoffManne.



Ben Sperry, Associate Director ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it )

Board of Advisors

  • Harold Demsetz, Arthur Andersen UCLA Alumni Emeritus Professor of Business Economics, UCLA Department of Economics and one of the founders of new institutional economics
  • Hon. Douglas H. Ginsburg, Circuit Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the DC Circuit and one of the most prominent scholars of law and economics on the bench
  • Richard A. Epstein, James Parker Hall Distinguished Service Professor, University of Chicago Law School; Director, John M. Olin Program in Law and Economics, University of Chicago Law School and one of the founders of law and economics.
  • Benjamin Klein, Professor Emeritus, UCLA Department of Economics and one of the founders of new institutional economics
  • Henry G. Manne, Dean Emeritus, George Mason University School of Law and one of the founders of law and economics
  • Kevin M. Murphy, George J. Stigler Distinguished Service Professor of Economics, University of Chicago Booth School of Business; MacArthur Fellow and John Bates Clark Medal winner
  • George L. Priest, Professor of Law & Economics, Yale Law School
  • Roberta Romano, Oscar M. Ruebhausen Professor of Law, Yale Law School and Director, Yale Law School Center for the Study of Corporate Law